The Alps

Everything happens here.

Moderator: BgSurfer

Tom's 180's
Dirty

The Alps

Post by Tom's 180's » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:55 am

Hey, long time since i logged in here - what's up?

Has anyone ever taken a boarding trip to the Alps? Would you recommend it? Where would you recommend? Many thanks.

MarcATB
Dirty

Post by MarcATB » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:14 pm

Frech guys did... :D
I proposed to cross the Alps this year (by foot and boards), but they said we should do it across Pyrenees.... much better
Visit Serbia and experience best boarder cross on planet

sir seymour

Post by sir seymour » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:57 pm

i've done 3 summer tours to the alps, varying from a week to a month in length (wish i was a student again!). Do it.
If you want to properly enjoy your riding, ride a brake board and the better your brakes the easier life will be. See them more as a decelerator.
Loads of different types of track to be had from the ski lifts (Courchevel, Morzine, Tignes plus a load of smaller resorts). We've ridden nasty scree slopes, endless firetrack, piste, road, singletrack and downhill mountainbike runs. Longest run on mixed terrain was a leg-buggering 36km.
Golden rule is, ride with a baguette and a yoghurt in your bag and protect your lunch at all costs, it makes you a better rider.
If you want an easy trip speak to the guys at pleisure holidays in courcheval. Plan it around summer lift opening times and make use of the free bus up the mountain. I think Mark Sewell is staying out there this summer so there would be a handy local guide there too. My favourite run in the world is in courcheval, grand carrey. You could just ride that for a week solid and not get bored!