Getting Started in Mountainboarding

Everything happens here.

Moderator: BgSurfer

KurlyQ
Noob

Getting Started in Mountainboarding

Post by KurlyQ » Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:51 pm

Hello all, I'm completely new to this sport, but it looks awesome from what I've seen so far. I live right next to the foothills of Northern Colorado and I first got the inspiration to get into Mountainboarding during a longboarding session that my friends and I had. We were cruising down a new hill we had found at a decent speed, having a grand old time, and around the next bend, the nicely paved road went directly to dirt, and we all ate it hard. I though it would be wonderful if we could just keep riding down that wonderful hill. Also, there is many great hilly portions of trails around my house, and I would really like to get out there and ride them.

I don't have any experience snowboarding, but I have been longboarding for quite some time.

I've got quite a few questions, but I'll just start out with a few:

First, I'm thinking about just getting a used board from Craigslist or something just to get a feel for the sport. What kind of boards do you guys suggest for a newbie that is interested in riding trails and hills?

Also, how easy do you think it will be to get up and carving for someone like me?

Last, any other random advice that you would like to throw in for a newbie?

Thanks a ton!

McCarver
Gringo

Post by McCarver » Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:31 pm